Picture
Hi readers!

My name is Rachel and I am one of the editors of this site and one of the moderators on Jen's facebook page. Jen is one of my best friends from college. On the first day of marching band, we all introduce ourselves in sections. From the very moment Jen and our friend Ashley introduced themselves, we knew we were meant to be best friends and have been ever since. We spent every day together talking and being goofy. We got along so well that it seemed as if we had known each other forever!

The day I found out Jen was in the hospital I was distraught. I couldn't believe that something like this could possibly happen to Jen! Ashley and I wanted to go see her so bad that it was painful; we hadn't not been in touch since we first became friends. The three of us were glued to our three way iphone chat for nearly five months and talked every single day for 

Picture
The first time we were allowed to visit was nearly two weeks after Jen was admitted to the hospital. It was the hardest moment of my entire life, I had never had someone so close to me in such dire straights! Jen did not look like herself and it was so scary seeing her in the condition she was in. 

She was sleeping nearly the entire visit, but for the few moments she was awake she had complete recognition in her eyes. She looked in between Ashley and I as we were talking to her and we could see she was relieved we were with her and knew who we were. It was at that moment that I knew Jen was aware and knew what was going on around her. Jen was still my best friend and was the person I had grown to love like a sister.

Picture
From that point on, I have gone to see Jen as often as I can. I have been able to watch her go through therapy and see the incredible progress she has made! She continues to improve and impress us all every single day. I am so proud of her for how far she has come and how strong she is. She has so much determination to get better and I know that she will make an incredible recovery! 

I will update this blog as often as I can with stories from my visits and the progress I have witnessed. You should know how wonderful Jen is and that she is a really special woman. I want Jen to have all of the opportunities she can possibly receive to make the best recovery possible. 

The most important thing that we can do is raise money for Jen's care. While she is making progress, she is unable to care for herself and will need full time care until the time comes when she might be able to care for herself. That is the goal of this website and what I have thrown all of my energy into. Since I am stuck at school and am only able to visit Jen on the weekends, I spend my spare time focusing my energy on fundraising and setting up Jen's websites. I am the moderator on Jen's facebook page, twitter and this website. When you talk to someone on one of these accounts, more times than not, you are conversing with me.

Thank you so much for reading and feel free to comment with suggestions for our websites and how we might improve your experience on this site!

-Rachel




Leave a Reply.